Preview 2: Vampire Bestiary

Posted on December 29, 2010

11


Okay, yes, I’ve been away. So what happened to me? Basically I realised I was spending too much time on the website here and not enough working on the Vampire Bestiary book itself, sort of panicked and went too far in the opposite direction, abandoning the website for a bit over two months. I’ll try to have a better balance in future, but its clear three updates a week isn’t going to work.

Anyway, so what about the Vampire Bestiary? Well, its nearly done, but not quite. I think we are talking mere weeks from completion though, as opposed to months.

Today’s preview is for the Vampire. Which may sound a bit weird since its a Vampire Bestiary, you would expect loads of vampires within and indeed there are. However, I’m talking about the basic ‘vanilla’ (if you’ll pardon the expression) vampire. Its notable that the core rulebooks (until Essentials anyway) didn’t have an actual Vampire therein. Sure they had Vampire Lords and Vampire Spawn, with different vampires in other books. But never a basic vampire.

To keep the Vampire company, I have also included the Vampire Wretch and Vampire Courtesan entries.

NB. You may note that there are no page numbers yet (though the preview represents pages #50 and #51 in the book itself). However, various elements are ever in flow with this undertaking (for instance I’m not happy with the current positioning of the Vampire Courtesan art) and subject to change. As regards the rather spartan text on the Vampire I should point out at this jucture that there are pages devoted to customizing vampire powers, vampire society, vampire religion and lots more elements that go under ‘vampire’ without being an immediate part of the stat block.

…anyway without further ado (by the way just click on the below pages for a larger version)…